Print this articlePrint this article

Written by Jim Quinn
As featured on page 40 in the February 2012 issue.
Read an abridged summary and highlights from the article.

History was made at AMA’s International Aeromodeling Center on August 1, 2011. A historic sixth win for one competitor and a first-time-ever first place for another made the F3A World Championships spectacular.

The historic sixth win came when Christophe Paysant-LeRoux of France was crowned F3A World Champion. Christophe won the event in 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2009, and is the current F3A World Champion.

The first-time-ever win goes to Marco Mazzucchelli of Italy, who was crowned Junior World Champion. A Junior World Champion must be less than 19 years old and at least four countries must be represented at a World Championship for a Junior competitor to be so named.

AMA salutes and congratulates these two deserving RC pilots.

Below are excepts from the full article featured on page 40 in the February 2012 issue.

This sight takes your breath away.

Junior World Champion, Marco Mazzucchelli, poses with his helper Andrea Villa.

Andrew Jesky is in the zone. He is using his iPod as a stick airplane to practice the first Unknown sequence. His musical selection is “unknown” as well.

A judge’s assistant, Rosemary Ells, looks delighted with an all-American barbecue.

Team USA’s Albert Glenn, team manager, and pilots Andrew Jesky, Chip Hyde, and Brett Wickizer celebrate as World Team Champions.

With this year’s win, Christophe Paysant-LeRoux became a six-time World Champion.

The top 10 finalists took a moment for a group picture.

The Jury members were (L-R) Bob Skinner, Michael Ramel, and Jim Eichenberg. The Jury prepares the judges, answers all technical questions, and resolves protests.

Carlos Hueb, from Brazil, reaches into the bucket, hoping for a white marble and no technical inspection.

Our Canadian friends went all the way with national pride. Check out the bottom of their airplanes.

Saturday was a free day for the pilots, but the judges were back in the classroom for a refresher course on the F-11 sequence.

Ron Lockhart and Andre Bouchard check Gerhard Mayr’s airplane for the 2-meter maximum wingspan.

Twenty judges assembled from around the world and worked tirelessly to ensure judging was consistent.

Congratulations go to Christophe Paysant-LeRoux (center), from France, in first place; Tetsuo Onda (left), from Japan, in second place; and Andrew Jesky (right), from the US, in third place.

At the end of the Opening Ceremonies, Michael Ramel officially opened the 2011 F3A World Championship.

Although Ron Morgan and Al Williamson were seldom seen, their management and assistance was vital to the success of the World Championship.

You can also view photos on

Add new comment